Skip to main content

Proteostasis Consortium

Working to solve aging and neurodegenerative disease

Homepage

Announcements

NOTE: Lila Gierasch’s talk has been moved to December 16th to allow for participation in The Protein Society’s Webinars on Sep 9th and 10th: Mechanisms of Molecular Chaperones: Insights from Hybrid Biophysical Approaches.

On each day, the webinar will last for 2 hours and include 4 presentations. The speakers are Johannes BuchnerJudith FrydmanUlrich HartlSebastian HillerCharalampos KalodimosRachel KlevitRina Rosenzweig, and Paul Schanda.
 
The webinar is free and will begin on both days at 9 AM PST (Los Angeles) / 11 AM (Chicago) / 12 PM (New York) / 5 PM (London) / 6 PM (Paris) / 7 PM (Moscow) / 9:30 PM (Delhi) / 12 AM (Beijing) / 2 AM (Sydney). Please find the registration links below.
 
 

PROTEOSTASIS CONSORTIUM WEEKLY SEMINAR SERIES (VIA ZOOM)

VIEW AND DOWNLOAD FULL SCHEDULE AND POSTER UNDER SEMINARS

RECORDINGS WILL BE POSTED 3 WEEKS AFTER LIVE SEMINAR DATE UNDER SEMINARS (PLEASE SCROLL DOWN)

Contact:  Michelle (mck3@stanford.edu) and Sue (s-fox2@northwestern.edu)

About Us

Northwestern University was awarded a $12.6 million grant from the National Institute on Aging at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) together with Harvard Medical School, Stanford University, the Gladstone Institutes at University of California, San Francisco and The Scripps Research Institute. Together, our research teams will form the Proteostasis Consortium to study the role of protein quality control in human aging and neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s disease.

The five-year grant is one of NIH’s Program Project Grants, designed to bring together investigators to uniquely solve a big problem, with aging and the risk for age-associated diseases being an example of highest priority.

Northwestern’s Richard I. Morimoto will lead a team of scientists including Judith Frydman at Stanford University, Dan Finley at Harvard Medical School, Steve Finkbeiner at the Gladstone Institutes at University of California, San Francisco and Jeff Kelly at The Scripps Research Institute.

Team of Scientists

Steven Finkbeiner, MD, PhD

Steven Finkbeiner, MD, PhD

Director, Center for Systems and
Therapeutics & Taube/Koret Center
for Neurodegenerative Disease,
Gladstone Institutes
Professor, Departments of
Neurology and Physiology,
University of California, San Francisco

Learn more
Daniel Finley, PhD

Daniel Finley, PhD

Professor of Cell Biology
Harvard Medical School

Learn more
Judith Frydman, PhD

Judith Frydman, PhD

Donald Kennedy Chair in the School of Humanities and Sciences
Professor of Genetics and Biology
Stanford University

Learn more
Jeffery Kelly, PhD

Jeffery Kelly, PhD

Lita Annenberg Hazen Professor of Chemistry
The Scripps Research Institute

Learn more
Richard I. Morimoto, PhD

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD

Bill and Gayle Cook Professor of Biology
Director, Rice Institute for
Biomedical Research
Department of Molecular Biosciences, Northwestern University

Learn more

Contact Us

Northwestern University

Program Project Grant

Administrator

Georgette Pliml

Please contact Michelle Kenney (mck3@stanford.edu) and Sue Fox (s-fox2@northwestern.edu)

 

Website Administrator

Renée Brielmann

Please direct any website-specific questions to Renée at renee.brielmann@northwestern.edu

Principal Investigators

Steven Finkbeiner, MD, PhD

Gladstone Institutes at University of California, San Francisco
1650 Owens St., Office 317
San Francisco, CA 94158
415-734-2508
steve.finkbeiner@gladstone.ucsf.edu

Daniel Finley, PhD

Harvard Medical School
240 Longwood Ave
Boston, MA 02115
617-432-3492
daniel_finley@hms.harvard.edu

Judith Frydman, PhD

Stanford University
Clark Center E200
318 Campus Drive
Stanford, CA 94305
650-725-7835
jfrydman@stanford.edu

Jeff Kelly, PhD

The Scripps Research Institute
10550 North Torrey Pines Road
La Jolla, California 92037
858-784-9880
jkelly@scripps.edu

Richard Morimoto, PhD

Northwestern University
Department of Molecular Biosciences
2220 Campus Drive, Cook Hall, Room 3103
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-3340
r-morimoto@northwestern.edu 

Funding Information